Introducing PromptDog Profiles!
Want to save your PromptDog settings? Use Profiles!
PromptDog Screenshot
With the help of a lot of people’s input, we’ve made some amazing updates to PromptDog. This post is an introduction to PromptDog Profiles, an easy way to save settings and scripts.

Sounds great! How do I use them?

If you look below the Show Talent Window button in PromptDog, you’ll see a dropdown menu that says “Default Settings.” This is how everyone will start when they open PromptDog for the first time.

Once you’ve imported your text and gotten the settings just the way you like them, use this dropdown to create or edit a Profile that saves everything you need, including:

Script

Scroll location

Talent window size and location

Eye-line options

Text options

Screenshot 2014-04-04 17.52.53
The dropdown
Screenshot 2014-04-04 18.05.26
The most important thing you need to know about creating, saving, and managing profiles is this:

The dropdown is where you save, create, and delete profiles.

Use the dropdown to “Save Current Profile” or “Save Profile As”

Screenshot 2014-04-04 18.05.26
So let’s say you’re finished prompting for the day and want to save your settings and where you’re at in the script. How do you do that?

If you haven’t made a profile yet, use “Save Profile As” to name and save your Profile. “Save Profile As” works just like the “Save As” function in Word, so you can use it to create a new Profile or if you made some tweaks to your Profile and just want to make another version of it, this is your ticket to happiness. “Save Current Profile” is just a “Save” function that will save any changes you’ve made to the Profile you’re working in.

Give it a name

Each time you create a new Profile, PromptDog will ask you to create a name for the new Profile, and then you’re off and running.
Screenshot 2014-04-04 17.50.48

Editing text

In the Text Edit Window, click Save to automatically save changes to your document, Save As to create a new document, or Cancel to back to the Operator Window.

Save Save As Cancel

PromptDog Text Edit

Where are scripts saved?

Where does PromptDog save your scripts after you make and save changes to them? Wherever you open them from! When you press Save, PromptDog automatically saves changes to your document. If you want to rename or relocate your file, just press Save As.
Save As

Managing Profiles

Feel free to save as many Profiles as you want. Screenshot 2014-04-04 18.10.38

They will appear in the dropdown.

What if you’re dropdown is getting crowded?

Screenshot 2014-04-04 18.12.20

Click Manage Profiles to delete Profiles you don’t need anymore.

This will take you to a list of your profiles to click and delete. Screenshot 2014-04-04 18.13.44

Screenshot 2014-04-04 18.13.52
And don’t worry, PromptDog will ask you one more time if you’re sure about deleting just in case you get trigger happy.

What if you forget to save changes?

Don’t worry if you forget to save. PromptDog will prompt you (pun intended) to save your Profile if you’ve made any changes. For example, the first time you upload a script and dial in your settings, you’ll get a “Save” box if you try to exit the program without saving. This ensures you don’t lose any important changes.
Screenshot 2014-04-04 17.51.04
Now get prompting! If you have any questions, feel free to contact us!

Don’t have PromptDog?

I want it!